Spicy Pumpkin Chili

I have committed the recipe crime of all recipe crimes! I did not write down my steps to making the spicy pumpkin chili… so here, on the blog… I will attempt to recreate the recipe.

So it all started with the chili cook off last weekend. You know, the one in Southend… WHAT!?! You didn’t know about it? ME EITHER! Until our friends at Atherton Mill & Market posted their entry on Facebook. Chef David had a locally sourced “red” chili and it was YUMMY! But it wasn’t my inspiration. My inspiration came from a spicy chili called: something, something sadomasochist, something, something… now this chili was spicy – but what caught my taste buds was the flavor behind the spice. It was glorious! Couldn’t put my finger on it, butternut squash, acorn squash… And the chef said, “well I had this pumpkin” PUMPKIN, that’s what it is! I thought about the 3 pumpkins I had sitting on the front porch… BINGO! – pumpkin chili it will be. But I didn’t use my pumpkins (which I regret) I used canned pumpkin. I am going to try this recipe again this weekend with the roasted princess pumpkin. I’ll let you know how it turns out. SO here’s kinda what I did 🙂

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

In a very large stew pot over medium heat: drizzled grapeseed oil and added:

3 cloves of garlic
half of a red onion chopped
a whole leek
2 poblano peppers chopped and deseeded
1 jalapeno chopped and deseeded
A few turns of the salt and pepper mills

Let that sweat it out for about 3-5 minutes and then I added about a pound of stew meat to sear – once I had good color on the outside of the meat – I added a strong brew of about 5 cups of coffee. This allowed the meat to simmer – but wasn’t so much that it boiled the meat. I reduced the heat to a simmer and allowed to cook for about 20 minutes. Then I added:

1 lb of raw ground meat
a can of 100% organic pumpkin
a can of water
more salt and pepper
some cayenne pepper, smoked paprika, chipotle powder (do this to taste a little at a time depending on your spice threshold)
1/2 tsp of oregeno
1/4 tsp of coriander

Let that simmer for about 45 minutes over low heat. Then add:

1 can of stewed tomato – but not the juice. I used kitchen shears to cut the tomato straight to the chili
1lb of sauteed ground beef – to the beef I added garlic powder, salt, pepper
1 pkg of the new dried mushroom medley from Trader Joes – along with the water you use to reconstitute (I used about 2 cups of water)
1 carrot chopped

Let that simmer for about 20-30 minutes over low heat. Now at this point I had lost the pumpkin flavor… which broke my little heart. So I cheated and added pumpkin pie spice from TJ’s until it tasted like fall. This spice mixture includes: cinnamon, ginger, lemon peel, nutmeg, cloves and cardamom. Then I let it simmer a but longer – about 25 more minutes. Served it up in 2 bowls over roasted cauliflower. While we were eating, I let the remaining chili simmer for about another 45 minutes over very, very low heat.

NOW, notes for next time. I am going to use a lot more pumpkin, not out of a can. I think I may play with some of the spices a little more – especially from the pumpkin pie spice mixture. I may brown all the ground beef this time. I think adding the raw beef it lost some of it’s oomph… I think I would like to try more of a pepper variety. It’s fun mixing all the peppers and makes for a great flavor profile!

Oh and how about this for dessert??! Check it: Chocolate Dipped Bacon

 

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Cooking Tips, Recipe

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Got a comment?

