Dry Rub Tri Tip Roast

Browsing the farmer’s market this weekend I ran across some yummy little poblano peppers. At first, I didn’t know they were poblanos… the small size and red color threw me off. The farmer saw me checking them out and said, “those will set you on fire, these over here are a little sweeter”. Well, that sounds like a challenge, I’ll take the hot ones.

I have used these awesome little peppers for three recipes this week! I will say this, the farmer was right. They are SPICY! A lot spicier than I would expect from a poblano, but a really great flavor to go along with the spice. These little guys were used to flavor some breakfast egg muffins and my spicy pumpkin chili! But, today’s recipe is the tri tip roast! If you’ve never had a tri tip, I highly recommend it. It’s got a ton of flavor, and can be cooked as a roast or cut into steaks. It can be slow-roasted or thrown on the grill. Either way is really GOOD!

Mexi-Rub Tri Tip Roast
1 tri tip roast – mine was about 2.5 lbs
3 roma tomatoes
3 cloves of garlic
2 small red poblano peppers
1/2 cup of brewed coffee
splash of coconut aminos
for the dry rub- the following measurements are approximate so feel free to play with the amount:
2 tbls garlic powder
1 tbls fresh ground sea salt
1 tbls fresh ground pepper
1/2 tbls mustard powder
2 tbls coconut palm sugar

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees. Place the roast in a low walled roasting pan – I used my 3.5 quart le crueset casserole dish with top.

This is a very versatile pan and worth every penny. I use this in almost every meal I prepare!

Mix all the ingredients for the dry rub and rub into the top of the roast. Let sit at room temperature while you prepare the remaining ingredients. Chop garlic and add the pan. Slice tomato into fourths and add to the dish around the roast. Pour the coffee into the pan, around the roast (not over the roast). Add the splash of coconut aminos to the coffee. Gently stir.

Place the roast uncovered in the 450 degree oven for about 15 minutes. Keep an eye on the roast. You want it to brown on top – but be sure it doesn’t burn your meat or the stuff you have in the pan. Adjust your oven heat or the time on 450 as necessary.

Lower the oven temperature to 350 degrees and cover tightly. If you do not have a dish with a lid – use a couple of pieces of tinfoil to get a tight seal over the roast. Let cook untouched for about 20 minutes. Take the roast out and check the temperature – I let mine cook another 15-20 minutes to reach a temperature of 160 – I would recommend cooking to an internal temperature of about 150.

Remove the roast from the pan onto a cutting board and let sit for about 10 minutes before cutting it. While it is settling. Remove the tomatoes from the pan – remove the skin (they will have come off during the cooking process, you don’t have to do this, but I prefer to do this). Place the tomatoes in a food processor, along with the garlic pieces and the liquid in the pan. Do a quick blend. Cut the roast into about 1/2 – 1 inch thick slices and drizzle sauce over top.

I served this with a baked white sweet potato (with grassfed butter, YUM) and a mix of broccoli, zucchini and white eggplant.

Categories: Nutrition, Recipe

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Dry Rub Tri Tip Roast”

  1. November 8, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    Ooooooh, how are those white sweet potatoes?? I was eyeing them on Saturday but wanted to do my paleo research before trying… are they just like regular sweet potatoes nutrition-wise, just white? Are they delicious??? πŸ™‚

    • November 8, 2011 at 9:43 am #

      yes, they are delicious! the only real difference I could find was they contain less beta-carotene than their orange brothers and sisters. there’s a great article by mark sisson talking about sweet potatoes vs. yams and how they fit into a primal diet: Mark’s Daily Apple I read this a while back when I was looking to incorporate sweet potatoes into my diet on a regular basis as a workout recovery food. Chris Kresser also has some interesting things to say about incorporating more starchy type tubers, but I can’t find the blog post right now 😦 My friend Melissa and I were talking about it the last time I was in Atlanta – she did a phone consult with him and I had just read a blog post or heard his podcast that talking about adding more sweet potatoes and starchy squashes to your plate if you felt like you were hitting a wall. I have been doing this for about a month now and have notices a significant difference in my endurance and overall energy. It hasn’t been a big change – just eating sweet potatoes more often as well as the more starchy squashes (acorn and butternut). I’ll look this afternoon and see if I can find the artcle/podcast for you!

      • November 8, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

        Found it! Robb Wolfe’s Podcast 69 – starts at 23:39 – talks about intermittent fasting and adding carbohydrates (good starches when someone has hit a plateau) the rest of the podcast is really good, but this sparked my interest about a month ago and I’ve seen good results with the addition of more good starchier carbs.

  2. November 8, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    Awesome – thanks! Will take a look at it tonight. May be something worth considering for myself, as I’ve historically kept carb intake very low ( < 100g daily). I think it may have been the culprit of recent exertion headaches prior to Charleston after increasing activity level to train for the comp. I've been eating lots more squashes since then and putting sweet potatoes back in on a once weekly basis. I wouldn't mind eating more. πŸ™‚

Got a comment?

