Heeeey – o

I was reminded this week of a few things.
1) Life is both fragile and resilient.
2) I am an extremely LUCKY girl.
3) Don’t take things for granted.

Amongst other things that brought on this atypical post, my 32-year-old cousin passed away on Sunday. From a heart attack. A heart attack. At 32. Her father, my Mom’s brother, passed away at 39 from a massive heart attack. He was a seemingly healthy guy. Very active.  I have no idea about his nutrition, as I was 15 when he died. But he and my Mom were VERY close, sporting similar personalities. If her eating/health habits were any indication of his… well, they were not stellar. BUT, a heart attack so young? And, the list goes on in my family. Mom… 40, first heart attack. Uncle Bruce passed away at 39 from a heart attack. Grandmother… 36 first heart attack, passed away at 56 from heart failure. Aunt Alisha … 33 first heart attack and now Amanda, 32, passed away from a heart attack. Needless to say I have heart disease in my family. So, if you were ever wondering where my passion for good nutrition came from… there’s your answer. RIP Amanda.

Fortunately, my Mom has been able to live with and somewhat manage her heart disease, if you call going into a cathlab every 6 months and taking a daily handful of pills, managing. I have been harassing, begging and praying for her to go gluten-free, just to see if it would help. She has tried a couple of times to do paleo. She’ll go ALL IN for a week and then fall off the wagon hard. Head first. Into a loaf of bread. Low fat, multi-grain, 100 calorie bread. Yesterday, she agreed AT THE VERY LEAST to go gluten-free. Fingers crossed and prayers said, I’ll let you know how it goes.

Speaking of Mom – the woman makes some pretty FIERCE southern fried chicken. Like, deep south grandma good, fried chicken. I have a few paleo fried chicken recipes up my sleeve and have been trying to think of some new things to try – something that wouldn’t really emulate this southern fried treat – but something that was prepared in a more healthful way that would satisfy my craving for southern fried food without overdoing it with the almond flour. Well, I did it and I don’t mean to brag, but it’ turned out REALLY, REALLY, REALLY good. OK, I meant to brag. I call it crispy chicken. A. because it’s not fried and B. well, IT’s CRISPY!!!

 

Crispy fried chicken, chipotle sweet potato hash browns and roasted brussel sprouts

Crispy Chicken
2 chicken breasted sliced into tenders
1 bag of Trader Joe’s plantain chips (if you don’t have a TJ’s near by, then you can use any thicker cut plantain chips… but look at the ingredients for the type of oil they are cooked in and lest I say any preservatives or something you can’t pronounce)
1/4 cup almond flour
2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon-ish garlic powder
Juice from half a lime
small amount of sea salt
fresh ground pepper to taste

Line a large cookie sheet with parchment paper and preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a medium bowl whisk the eggs, salt, pepper and garlic powder. Add the lime juice and mix with a fork. Set this aside. Put the almond flour and about 3/4 of the bag of chips in a food processor, pulse until it’s well blended and the chips have been reduced to small pieces (about the size of a sunflower seed). Place this mixture in a large, shallow bowl. Dip the tenders into the egg mixture and then dredge in the “flour” mixture. Place the chicken on the lined cookie sheet leaving about a 1/2 inch between each tender. Place in the oven for about 15-20 minutes. You want the “breading” to be firm and crispy. Play with the cooking times a bit as they may vary from oven to oven. Enjoy!

Categories: Nutrition, Recipe

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Got a comment?

