Unique greens

What a great Saturday at the farmer’s market! I have been rushing through the farmer’s market lately – if, I’ve even been in town to go on Saturday. This Saturday though… it was a leisurely stroll through the booths! I had breakfast at the Roots Truck; coffee at Monk’s Groovy Beans and topped it off with a lesson on how to make  organic soil from microfarm organic gardens.

Carter was out-of-town and I thought it would be a weekend to catch up on the DVR’d House Hunters International… not so much. After the farmer’s market I headed over to Dogtoberfest with the pups. Super cute dog costume contest – there were two boston terriers in matching sailor outfits, I mean. Then it was off to a fashion show with a friend and out waaaaaaaaaaay to late. BUT, I did manage to conjure up a new recipe between activities.

While at the farmer’s market I was talking to the ladies at Put a Fork In It, AKA Bell’s Best Berries. I was getting some poblano peppers – inspired by one of my meals in Atlanta last week. They also had these baby mustard greens – they said to wilt them and they would be delicious! So, Saturday morning I did just that with about 1/4 of the bunch of greens. They were DELICIOUS! Sunday – I opened the fridge trying to figure out what I was going to stuff my poblano peppers with… remaining mustard greens… aaaaaaaaaaand leeks. That could work. It was different, but really good. I think if you had larger peppers you could add meat like chicken or pork for a full stuffed poblano meal.

 

Little, different and delicious!

Baby mustards and leek stuffed poblano peppers
1 bunch of baby mustard greens
2 cloves of garlic
1 leek – split and chopped
4 small poblano peppers or 2 large ones
2 tbs of grapeseed oil
salt & pepper to taste

Add the grapeseed oil to a pan and heat over medium-low heat. Add the garlic and saute for about 30 seconds. Add the leaks and saute until al dente. Lower heat to low. While that is cooking, split your poblano peppers and de-seed them. I took the stems off mine as well. They were so small there was no way to avoid this. (Larger peppers you could make a slit in the side and pull the seeds out, keeping the pepper intact) Once you have the peppers ready – add the greens to the pan and stir until the greens are somewhat wilted. Add a little salt and pepper. Remove from heat and let cool for a few minutes. Stuff each pepper with the greens mixture. I closed each pepper with a bamboo skewer I cut in half. Spray the pepper with grapseed oil – quick grind of salt and pepper over the tops. I placed each pepper on the top rack of the grill – while I was grilling the okra and ribeyes. Be sure and turn them a few times so they don’t get charred too much on one side.

Tip of the day: Grapeseed Oil Spray, you may be asking… Where do I get that?? Get yourself one of these Prepara Tabletop Oil Mister. It’s one of my favorite kitchen toys! Add the grapeseed oil and replace the spray cans of PAM people! It also helps me use a lot less of the grapeseed oil.

Categories: Cooking Tips, Nutrition, Recipe

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Got a comment?

