Fall is here.

Fall Spinach Salad

Well, not officially… but the fall produce is certainly here. Apples can be found on every farmers table – and the squashes – the winter squashes are popping up everywhere!

Greens are back! Which was my inspiration for last night’s side dish.

I was thawing out some bacon for breakfast this morning – I may have bought 4 lbs last time they had pork at underwood farms (insert embarrassed emoticon here).

I had spinach – lots o’ apples and an orange, not local of course but I forgot to pick what I wanted in my delivered CSA and oranges were one of the items they picked for me. Along with white potatoes and blueberry bagels. hmmmmmm… rethinking this CSA, but I digress. Sidenote: this is not my Coldwater creek CSA – Eric would never hand me a bag of bagels 🙂

O.k., back on track, promise.

So, a spaghetti squash was in the oven. Ribeyes were coming to room temperature. And I, started thinking back to the beginning of the summer. My friend Bianca had made a wilted spinach salad that was very spring-y and delicious. But, I couldn’t for the life of me remember what was in the salad besides spinach. Maybe there were almonds… and maybe apples. Anywho, it was my inspiration for this recipe that is sure to be on my Thanksgiving table. I love having wonderful cooking friends that inspire me!

Fall Homage to Bianca’s Spring Spinach Salad
5 oz of baby spinach
3 strips raw uncured bacon chopped
2 cloves garlic chopped
1/8 tsp of orange zest
1 tsp garlic powder
2 small to medium red apples cubed
1/4 cup chopped pecans
1/4 cup olive oil
Fresh ground sea salt and pepper to taste

Over medium low heat add the olive oil to a cast iron saute pan (le creuset is my pan of choice) after the oil is warm (do not bring it to a high enough heat to where is sizzles when you add something) add the chopped garlic, bacon, salt/pepper and garlic powder. Saute mixture until the bacon starts to brown (this will take about 15 minutes or so) add the apples and chopped pecans. Saute for another 20 minutes until the apples start to become a little caramelized. Add the spinach and cover the pan – lower the heat and let sit for about 5 minutes. Remove the top and toss the spinach with the mixture. Cover and let sit for another 5 minutes. Keep an eye on the spinach you don’t want it to be cooked, just wilted. Add orange zest to the top and serve.

Categories: Cooking Tips, Nutrition, Recipe, Uncategorized

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Fall is here.”

  1. September 22, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    I use the same non-named CSA and keep asking them to stop delivering and they won’t. What am I going to do with bagels and potatoes?!

    • September 22, 2011 at 10:15 am #

      Yeah, I am going to try and cancel this week… I have another Fall CSA I am going to join… I’ll have to put the smack down on them if they try to keep delivering!

Got a comment?

