BACON!

Baaaaaaaaaacon!

I loooooooooooooooooove bacon… maybe more than okra. maybe. Bacon has become a rare treat in our household. Since we purchase such a large quantity of beef at one time we end up eating a lot of beef for breakfast. Plus, good locally sourced bacon is a tough gig to find. I get most of my pork products from Christy at Underwood Family Farms. They are located out past Shelby, but you’ll see them at the regional farmers market on Saturdays. Their pork is heavenly. Seriously, it’s the best pork I have ever had. It’s also not abundantly available because they are a small operation – I have been known to get a little chorizo from Grateful Growers in between Christy’s harvest – but typically I wait for the email from Christy announcing that they have pork for sale! That’s when I stock up! This past weekend I pre-ordered – 4 lbs of bacon, a pork shoulder, a pork butt and 2 packs of pork chops. I usually order some tenderloins, but I didn’t get to them in time 😦 I was super excited for the bacon – so I made a new brine last night – it’s YUMMY! I added a couple of new surprises, I hope you enjoy!!

Sunday Morning Bacon, or Monday morning if you choose.
1 lb uncured bacon
1 tbls raw coconut nectar
splash of apple cider vinegar
1/3 cup of raw coconut aminos
4 turns of a sea salt grinder – set for a course grind
5 turns of a pepper grinder – set for a course grind
1 tbls of garlic powder

Whisk all the ingredients together in a bowl. Place bacon in a glass pyrex dish and pour mixture over the bacon. Move the bacon around a bit, to ensure that the bacon is well coated. Cover the dish with plastic wrap and let sit in the fridge overnight. The next morning – remove the bacon and place on a flat griddle over medium heat, turning once, until cooked thoroughly.

Coconut aminos – a must have!

Note: So you may be thinking… AMBER what are coconut aminos and this coconut nectar you speak of??? And, where do I get it? Well, I got mine at Healthy Home Market – but you may also find it at Earthfare, Whole Foods (for those of you lucky dogs that have one close by) or you can order it online. I use the aminos for all kinds of marinades and even in stir fry. The fine print: the coconut nectar is an added sugar so should be viewed as a treat and used sparingly.  

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Nutrition, Paleo news, Recipe

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Got a comment?

