Kelp Noodle Spaghetti

Not bad after all

Hmmmmmmm…. well… kelp noodles. I have been wanting to try these for about a year now – ask Lorrie Calupas.

For some reason it was one of those things I didn’t want to order online. This past weekend I wondered in to the new shop  ecolicious in Plaza Midwood. They are a vegan shop focusing on animal cruelty free products for home and kitchen. And there they sat – KELP NOODLES! Last night I broke out the tupperware of s’ghetti sauce and broke open the package of kelp noodles (even before I coule get a picture).

I tried one right out of the pack. Kinda weird. Fiona at ecolicious had warned me that they were “water chestnutty”. She was right. It had a crunch that I wasn’t expecting. A little bit of a vinegar taste and an ending flavor of stinky cheese. First bite, not a fan. I continued to nibble… raw, they never really grew on me. I wouldn’t even let Carter taste because I knew that would be the end of that. So in an effort to mask any kind of “sea” taste (even though it didn’t taste sea like to me… it might to him) I thought… I’ll throw some grapessed oil in a pan and try a little stir fry to soften them up. Ummmmm, not so much. These things didn’t change a bit with heat. I figured I would just mix a small amount with the sauce – in case the flavor came through too much, it wouldn’t ruin dinner.

Spaghetti sauce heated, noodles added and mixed. Apparently the sweet spot for these kelp noodles?? WARM LIQUID! After sitting in the warm sauce for a few minutes – they softened right up. Although not like a traditional spaghetti noodle – it could almost pass for angel hair pasta. Once they soften the flavor totally mellows and has a pleasant consistency. I would think softening in a chicken broth or veggie broth would be fabulous!

Later Summer Spaghetti Sauce
3 bell peppers finely chopped (i used a purple, white and pimento)
10 – 15 roma tomatoes – blanched with skin removed (in a pinch use a large can of whole tomatoes) and quartered
1 small onion chopped
3 cloves of garlic minced
handful of basil leaves chopped
palm full of oregano leaves chopped
fresh ground sea salt and pepper
grapeseed oil on hand
1 lb of grassfed ground beef

In a large saute pan add about a tablespoon of grapeseed oil and heat over medium – once it’s heated add the garlic and onion. Saute until they begin to soften. Add the bell peppers. Continue to saute – keep all the ingredients moving around the pan with a wooden spoon. Add tomatoes, salt and pepper. Stir – breaking the tomatoes up even more. Bring to a slow boil and lower the heat and let simmer for about 20 minutes. While that is simmering brown meat in a saute pan to about medium rare – add the meat to the sauce, continue to simmer for another 20-30 minutes. I usually take the lid on and off depending on the consistency – if it seems to be too watery, take the lid off and let simmer for a few minutes. If the sauce seems too thick – place the lid on for a few minutes. Serve over kelp noodles that have been blanched in chicken broth. I’ll try this soon and let you know if it works 🙂

Tags: , ,

Categories: Nutrition, Recipe

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Got a comment?

