Movin’ and Shakin’

It’s been busy around the Lewis house this week! Saturday was the Fran for Fosters fundraiser (over $2500 raised for a local rescue group); the annual UCF cookout and an engagement party for our friends Meig & Jeff… that was all in one day. Sunday was filled with building and packing boxes for the big move coming up this weekend. Needless to say… we’ve been eating out a lot. One of our meals was spent with a childhood friend of Carter’s from Huntington – no offense to any of the other childhood friends I know of Carter’s. But, John is my new favorite! He has invited us to a cookout next month at a tailgate for NASCAR. As I am not excited about NASCAR – I have been assured we will have an easily accessible (escape) parking space and we won’t be going in to the actual race. Ok, I can do that especially when the cook is John’s brother. John’s brother raises his own pigs and hunts a black bear or two every year. He will be showcasing his “famous” smoked pork and black bear ribs. Stay tuned for photos and report of said cookout.

Now, back to busy… I always talk a good game about being prepared for the week with meals… but… most of the time I am wingin’ it. But after yesterday – when we had absolutely nothing for lunch already prepared. I knew I would need to cook some stuff in bulk so that we wouldn’t continue to eat out. Last night we had awesome Ribeyes from Proffitt Family Farms – I mean they were A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. – fried okra and smoked yellow squash.

Food for the week!

While I was preparing dinner – I also made a batch of Paleo Gumbo and Stuffed Pepper Spaghetti Sauce. I have cauli-rice for the gumbo and kelp noodles for the spaghetti. This is my first experience with the kelp noodles. I’ll let you know how it goes! Recipes and photos for each meal to follow later this week! In the meantime… go buy a ribeye from Proffitt Farms – put a little salt, pepper and garlic powder on one side. Grill to about medium rare. It’s the easiest and best meal I have had in a long time!

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Got a comment?

