A Green Dinner

This week has been craaaaaaaaaaaaaazy… evidenced by my lack of postings this week. My day job has been out of control; we’re moving in one week (have not packed one box) and our Fran for Fosters fundraiser is this weekend. As I was rushing home from the gym, I called the hubs to salt and pepper the cube steaks to throw on the grill – then started tappin’ my fingers on the ol’ noggin about what we were going to have with said cube steaks. Well, I had some basil in my CSA that needed to be used STAT. Bless its little heart, it had seen better days.  Get ready for a run on sentence here: There was no spaghetti squash to house my standby pesto sauce and I have been wanting to try this for a while, so what the hay – zucchini and squash noodles it is!

Our family has had significant injuries with this thing. Be very careful if you should dare use one.

I pulled out the hateful mandolin – cooking utensil not musical instrument – and went to town. I used the julienne attachment for both the zucchini and squash.

It's kinda like angel hair pasta in the old days!

Once I had the noodles prepared – I used a steaming tray in a large pot with just a little bit of water to cover the bottom. Placed the burner on high heat and let the “noodles” steam. It really was that easy. I placed the noodles on the plate and tossed with pesto. I also topped the cube steaks with pesto. Aaaaaaaaand to stick with the theme… green tomato and avocado salad. This would be a perfect St. Patty’s Day dinner. But it was our perfect August 9th dinner.

Yes, that is a GIANT watermelon. It was our CSA surprise. SURPRISE!!!!

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “A Green Dinner”

  1. August 12, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    We just did zucchini spaghetti for the first time the other night, it was really good (mandolin is a must, and frightening). Last night we did the cauliflower rice, but it was more couscous consistency, as one of our 4yr olds likes to help with the food processor. It was really good, too.

    Have you had this Coconut Aminos I keep reading about everywhere?

  2. August 12, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Yes! I just got some a few weeks ago. I haven’t cooked with it yet, but I did taste it. Pretty similar to soy sauce. Carter said it tastes like Kodiak. I don’t agree… but then I don’t think I have ever tasted Kodiak. So there’s that 🙂

Got a comment?

