Week of Fridays

Wow… how the time flies! This week was the hubs’ birthday, day 30 of the Whole30 challenge and the realization that we move in 2 weeks. EEK! First things first – the birthday. It wasn’t as hard as we thought not having cake or drinks even though we did go out to eat. We went to one of our favorite restaurants in the hood, Soul. I love, love, love Soul – They are always accommodating with my many requests to add stuff in and leave stuff out. I heart them! Of course, Carter’s birthday fell on a Wednesday, Soul Flight Club wine tasting from 5-7pm. UGH… had to pass, but next Wednesday Soul it is! For a treat!

The Whole30 Challenge also came to an end on Wednesday. Sigh… I have to say, I am SUPER DUPER excited about how I felt the past 30 days. But I am also glad to be done. Even after all the warnings – we dug in last night. We had wine, rice and a little paratha with dinner at Copper Indian Cuisine. Indian food is one of my all time favorite cheat meals. It’s worth the tummy ache on the rare occasion that we allow ourselves to indulge. And of course, I am EXHAUSTED today. I don’t know if it’s the extreme soreness from doing the workout Cindy on Wednesday or if it’s a sugar crash from the hoopla. Regardless of the culprit, after my display at the first supper last night… I’ll be a little hesitant to add back all the goodies I was planning to on day 29. So on day 32 – I will heed my own advice. I am now back on the wagon – well I’ve hopped on the tailgate.

With this week being so crazy – I haven’t been in the kitchen too terribly much. Which is odd for me. And with the move coming up – it will be slim pickings in the kitchen. But, I’ll be sure to keep up with the blog and post what I am cooking in a limited kitchen. One thing I did get a chance to whip up (tongue in cheek) was a nice piece of pork belly. You’ll find the recipe below.

Pork Belly Brine
2 tbsp of apple cider vinegar
Pink Himalayan sea salt
fresh ground pepper
Garlic powder
Smoked paprika

In a glass container that you can cover tightly – place pork belly in dish, fat side up. Pour vinegar over pork belly. Cover top of pork belly with spices – I did a pretty good coating.

Pork belly with brine

Place covered glass dish in the fridge overnight. I let mine sit for over 24 hours. To prepare the belly for the oven. Take a large, sharp knife and cut a cross hatch into the top layer of the belly. Be sure to just cut through the fat and not through the meat. I made about 4 cuts across the top and then went back and added 4 more cuts in a crosshatch pattern. Move the belly to another cooking dish and pour the extra brine over the top focusing on the slits that you cut.

To cook the pork belly – preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place pork belly in oven and keep a close eye on it. You’ll want to cook at this temperature until the top fat part of the pork starts to brown and crisp. Once the tips start to brown decrease the oven temperature to 325 and cook for about an hour. Slice and serve. We had ours with lump crab cakes (recipe coming soon) and roasted veggies.

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Got a comment?

