Okra Diner

The other day I was texting a friend of mine. One of my favorite terms of agreement/acknowledgement is okee dokee. With the occasional addition of pokee. Well, this day and this text was a bit hurried and I may have been running – so I replied, “okee dokee”. Thanks to my iPhone auto-correct the actual text said, “okra diner”. And, well, that kinda worked – As you all know, I love OKRA… AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAND, I have perfected my southern-fied paleo version of okra. It happened this morning. For breakfast – we had some grassfed ground beef left over with a mexican flare. Some left over zucchini – but not a ton so I needed another veggie. You guessed it, okra. But I thought, what else could I do to make this okra the best okra I’ve ever made. End thought. I have some pesto – ok. And, eggs. I’ll add an egg and pesto to the batter. Done. Not to self, pesto was kind of a waste. It got totally lost with the flavor of the okra. I think I did get a hint of basil with maybe one bite. But for the most part – zilch. However, with the addition of egg added to the mix. WOW! It crunchified the small amount of almond meal that I had added. yum, yum and yum! 

Happy Friday – we’ll call this recipe – Okra Diner…

Okra Diner
10 okra (increase ingredients for a larger batch) but i found this very manageable
1 egg
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup almond meal – has the skin from the almond and is a bit courser than almond flour

Slice okra into circles about 1/2 inch thick. Break egg into a bowl and whisk with a fork until well mixed (if you are so inclined, I added the pesto to the egg mixture). Add okra and egg to a plastic bag or large bowl. Tossing until the okra is well coated. Heat grapeseed oil on medium high heat. Add okra to pan. It will be gooey at first, once it starts to fry, they will loosen up. I did use the pan to toss more than I used a spatula.

Got any okra recipes of your own? Please share in the comments section!

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Got a comment?

