Pesto Shrimp

As I was writing my blog yesterday – I was thinking I wanted to put a little spin on the pesto. I took a little break from the computer, mid-blogging, went to the fridge for a beverage and there was the shrimp I had gotten from the farmers market on Tuesday. SCORE, love it when dinner ideas are just that easy! You’ll remember earlier in the week (picture in the post for the cauli-grits) we had some spaghetti squash. Which over the years has become one of my favorite squashes(sp?). So I thought, I’ll do a kitchen sink type pesto with a kick, top it with those yummy Georgia Reds. Now how to cook the shrimp?? I had these beautiful little orange tomatoes from my CSA that saute up nicely. Side note: This idea was inspired by a dish we had at Harvest Moon – they took their handmade italian sausage simmered in a tomato ragout. It was one of the best meals we have had at Harvest Moon. As you see pictured below – I heated a little grapeseed oil in a pan over medium heat. Added a large glove of garlic minced. Then added about 10 of the little orange tomatoes – halved.

Once the tomatoes began to soften, I added the peeled, deveined shrimp. Once the final shrimp begins to curl, turn the heat down for about another minute or so. Then remove the pan from heat.

   

 Now for the pesto!


Great olives found at Healthy Home Market

Place all ingredients in a food processor – keep the olive oil on hand in case you need to add more. Process a few times until all ingredients are well blended. Probably takes about 4-5 pulses.

I had left over spaghetti squash that I heated quickly in a saute pan – if it’s freshly prepared – no need to heat up, just scrape out with a fork on to the plate. Put about a tablespoon of the pesto on the spaghetti squash. Then top with Shrimp/tomato mixture. Add another 1-2 tablespoons of pesto. Enjoy!

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Got a comment?

