Friday… not yet, but how about cauli-grits!?

Goodness… well happy Tuesday to you too, what. a. day. I feel like I have lived my entire week on a random Tuesday in July. Well, good news is, I think the recipe for today will be worth the wait! Anyone out there in paleo land missing shrimp and grits? I happen to enjoy a grit now and again – but during the Whole30 challenge… there will be none of that. And, well, even when I am not doing a challenge I do tend to stay away from the grit. Unless – my brother-in-law makes them and then I must make an exception. The man makes a fine batch of home-made grits.

OK, now let’s get down to business. There are a lot of ways to prepare cauliflower. One of my favorites is as a substitute for mashed potatoes. But if you veer on the side of al dente with your steaming of said cauliflower – you can make a delicous rendition of my favorite southern treat. We didn’t have this with shrimp last night – but I did get some local reds this afternoon at the farmer’s market that will be making their way into some cauli-grits soon.

Rosemary Garlic Paleo Grits

1 head Cauliflower
3 cloves garlic
1 stem of fresh rosemary – about 10 inches
2-3 tbls of coconut butter
1/2 cup coconut milk
salt/pepper to taste

Break Cauliflower into medium chunks to place in steamer. Rough chop garlic (i just did a quick pop with the knife to peel it and left it in a crushed state). Also, add the leaves from the rosemary stem to the middle of the steamer – steam for about 5-8 minutes. Place cauliflower in food processor. Add coconut butter, milk and salt/pepper(to taste). Pulse 5 to 6 times – probably about 4-5 seconds each time. The cauliflower will have a pretty fluffy consistency. Serve as a side, pictured OR serve under shrimp, photo to come.

Categories: Cooking Tips, Recipe

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Friday… not yet, but how about cauli-grits!?”

  1. July 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    So, pic seems to be some awesome lookin’ pork (hmmm, the pig reigns supreme), zucchini pasta, with some sort of paleo pesto, and said cauliflower grits? No wonder Carter works out so much after these yummy meals.

  2. July 27, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    The meat is a grassfed tri-tip roast – BEEF, my friend! that is squash pasta – but spaghetti squash – ever tried it? if not, you should, and yes that’s my famous paleo pesto – well famous in my mind.

Got a comment?

