Manic Monday

I have like 17 blog posts I want to make today… I am going to try and narrow it down to a 3 for 1. And no picture today ūüė¶ I accidently erased my red pepper photo. FAIL!

1) I just want to say that I love my gym… I know, pretty much everyone you meet from a Crossfit¬†gym, loves their gym, borderline obsessed with it. I like to call it a healthy cult. But UCF¬†– is one of the best crossfit communities I have encountered and I have to say, I am a lucky girl to be surrounded by such awesome people. So why on Monday, July 25th am I confessing my undying love for my gym? This past Saturday, in a heat index of oh, about 102 – a group of our members went out to help with a Habitat for Humanity home. And not just any ol’ project… but of course, we were tasked with finishing a roof. Did I mention the heat index? It was hot. Like really, really hot. These folks stuck with it, finished the roof and then some without an ounce of complaint. This just made me happy in my heart and I¬†wanted¬†to share. Shout out to the Habitat group!

2) Smoothies – GET YOUR DOGONE GOOD SMOOTHIES! It’s summer. It’s hot and I can’t have an adult bevvie right now. I gotta have something and I gotta have something NOW! I am here to share with you the best smoothie recipe around. I cannot take full credit for this wonderous treat… I stole the concept from Luna’s Living Kitchen – THE OGRE. You may thank me later.

The OGRE at home with the Lewisssss – this is a treat. I will repeat… a treat.
1 whole banana
1 tbls of cacao nibs
1 tbls of cacoa powder
1tbls of  date sugar
1/2 can of coconut milk
1 tbls of coconut butter
6 cubes of coffee ice – what’s this? simply freeze¬†coffee in a tray
Place all ingredients in a blender – blend until smooth. ENJOY with a straw!

Avocado Smoothie courtesy of the Skeltons – and probably a little better to have on a regular basis
Avocado
Carrots
Pineapple
Banana
Orange
Ice, blend, Enjoy!

3) Last but not least Рstuffed peppers. I have tweaked my recipe just a tad for these GIANT red bell peppers I got  this past weekend.

Mexican Stuffed Red Peppers
1 lbs ground grassfed beef
2 cloves garlic
1 cup cauliflower rice (instructions below)
2 large red peppers
1 cup salsa (recipe below)
Grapeseed Oil for cooking
Guacamole (recipe below)

Preheat oven to 350. Cut the tops off the red peppers and clean seeds out. Salt the inside of the pepper cups and set aside in a glass pyrex dish. Chop the tops into small pieces to add to the ground beef. Mince garlic and mix with red pepper bits.

Salsa
10-15 roma tomato
3 cloves of garlic
1 jalapeno
3 limes
1/2 and onion
salt and pepper to taste
Place all ingredients in food processor and blend to desired consistency. I usually have this on hand – the longer it sits in the fridge the better the flavor!

Guacamole
2 small avocado
1 clove garlic
Juice from 1 lime
1 teaspoon of cumin
salt and pepper to taste
Pulse in a food processor until lightly blended. Cover with plastic wrap and put in fridge.

Cauliflower Rice
Take about 10-12 caps of cauliflower – place in a food processor until the cauliflower is a rice consistency. I would usually blanch the cauliflower before processing – but since the peppers will be in the oven for a while – the cauliflower will cook at this time. Set aside.

In a large saute pan – heat grapeseed oil over medium heat – add garlic and chopped red pepper tops. Once they begin to soften, add the ground beef to¬†brown. While the beef is still a little pink ,add the salsa. Lower heat, cover¬†and simmer for about 10 minutes then uncover for another 10 minutes to allow some of the juice to cook out. Add cauliflower rice and mix. Place the beef mixture into the pepper cups and place in preheated oven for about 15-20 minutes. Check a couple of times to make sure the tops aren’t burning. If they seem to be browning too quickly lower the oven rack. Let the peppers sit for about 10 minutes. They will be HOT. Top with guac and serve.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Cooking Tips, Nutrition, Recipe

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Got a comment?

