Circus Peanuts

So we have hit the half way mark fo the Whole30!! Woot woot. I am so excited and feeling great to boot. I had so much damn energy yesterday I didn’t know what to do with myself and this was after running at bootcamp and a noon Crossfit class. So, I went to Target and to get organized. I brought home several items that I felt would help us in our daily lives.  A clothes hamper that separates and airates the workout clothes from our everyday clothes, desperately needed. A drying rack to put said workout clothes on to dry. Last but not least, a dish drainer for the sink so we would stop with the dishtowel on the counter method to dry the non-dishwasher items. As I am unpacking and displaying my wares. Carter, keeps shaking his head and actually said this outloud, “I appreciate that you think you are going to use all of this stuff, but the reality will be, my clothes will go in the hamper. Yours will still go on the floor. The collapsible drying rack will get in the way and never be put away. And the dish drainer will get used for about a day before you start putting both clean and dirty dishes on that side of the sink”.

NAYSAYER!

So I began to plead my case the whole time cracking up laughing because I know, he’s probably right. At this point, I realize I have gotten delirious because I am hysterically laughing at pretty much nothing more than my husband telling me I am messy and that will never change. Oh well, I did get the prettiest dish rack I could find. Sigh. Moving on.

So we got a cantaloupe at the farmer’s market this past weekend – I searched high and low for this thing – it was going to be a real TREAT! Well, I didn’t realize how much of a treat it would be after going sans sugar for 14 days. It’s funny, we have been eating Paleo for about 2 years now and for the most part we stay on track (except Carter and his liquid bread). I am absolutely amazed at the difference in dialing in to the Whole9 approach for these 30 days. It really has been a reset even though we were eating clean before! So back to the cantaloupe – I cut a little up for myself yesterday after lunch and HOLY SWEETNESS – it tasted just like those marshmallow CIRCUS Peanuts – yes I was one of those – I loved circus peanuts and PEEPS! Bite after bite, the taste of the circus peanuts never went away. I don’t think at any point in my life, until now, I would have tasted that sort of sweetness in fruit. And that folks brings me to the recipe for today. How about cantaloupe carpaccio? Sound good? It’s delicious!

Canteloupe Carpaccio
1) Slice cantaloupe – preferably with a mandolin – if you don’t have one on hand, use a very sharp knife and slice very thin. BE CAREFUL!
2) Spread out on plate
3) Drizzle balsamic vinegar over top (I used pomegranate infused)
4) Drizzle olive oil over top
5) Sprinkle sea salt (I used a smoked sea salt)
6) Add some prosciutto on the side (check the label for sugar and other non-desired ingredients)
7) EAT!

Tags: , ,

Categories: Cooking Tips, Recipe

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Got a comment?

