Andouille Sausage… yes, please.

Griddle pan - one of the best purchases ever.

For those of you joining us for the Whole30 challenge and really for anyone else reading this – have I got news for you! Proffitt Family Farms has blessed us with their very own Andouille Sausage. Of course, upon reading the label and finding NO SUGAR and small list of natural ingredients, I did not hesitate to buy a pack. We have had andouille sausage for 4 days in a row for breakfast. I’ve added it to a scrabble, we’ve had it linked with our eggs and veggies… BUT TODAY, today was my favorite. So I thought I would share the recipe – everything in this recipe was found at the Atherton Mill farmers market. Even down to the grapeseed oil I used for cooking!

1 link of andouille sausage
1 clove garlic or 2 strands of garlic scape chopped
2 eggs
1 giant zucchini or I used what looked like a mini pumpkin zucchini – really any variety will do
grapeseed oil for sauteeing
salt/pepper to taste
1/2 sliced avocado

Add oil to the pan along with garlic or scape over medium heat. Cube the zucchini into 1/2 inch cubes. Once the garlic begins to sizzle add the zucchini cubes. Saute for several minutes until the zucchini begins to soften, while that is cooking slice the andouille sausage in a little less than 1/4 inch slices. Add a small amount of salt and pepper to taste. Saute until the sausage begins to brown a bit. I use a griddle pan for this so that I can cook my eggs in the same seasoning and oil as the rest of the meal. At this point I push the veggie and sausage mix to the back of the pan – scrammble three eggs for Carter and then two over medium for mysel. We are a house divided on egg preperation. Top it off with your sliced avocado and you have breakfast!

Andouille surprise... I need to get better at naming my recipes.

This could very easily be prepared the night before, even for several days of a breakfast – just double the ingredients and portion out into tupperware. I am not a huge fan of reheated eggs, so I would recommend at least cookign those quickly in the morning. But, you can always throw those in the scrammble as well the night before.

 
 
 

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Cooking Tips, Recipe

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Got a comment?

