Paleo friendly flour and French Toast

 Elana’s Scrumptious Sandwich Bread, cut into 1.5″-2″ slices

Ingredients:
4 Dates
2 Eggs
1/4 Coconut Milk (I like Trader Joe’s brand – no preservative!)
1/2 T. Pure Vanilla Extract
1/2 T. Cinnamon
1 T. Grapeseed Oil, for grilling

Directions:

Mix all of the ingredients (except for oil) in a blender, until smooth. Pour wet mixture into a large bowl of shallow baking dish. Soak bread in the mixture for approximately five minute and then flip. Soak on the second side for another 10 minutes of so…to really get the custard absorbed.

*Heat the grapseed oil on a griddle or heavy-bottom pan over medium heat. Cook on first side for 5-7 minutes and then flip. Cook for another 7-10 minutes, until golden brown and cooked through.

I put a lid on my french toast as I cooked the second side.

*You can also bake this french toast at 350F, for 20-25 minutes.
I served this with 100% Pure, Organic Maple Syrup. It would also be great with chopped pecans, bananas, and a dollop of whipped coconut milk w/vanilla.

Nothing like a 5 lbs bag of blanched almond flour arriving in the mail to make this paleo girl happy! I have been getting a lot of questions about flour alternatives and where to purchase. So I thought a blog post was in order. Here’s what I do:

Almond Flour for baking: I find that the almond flour at Trader Joe’s is a little too mealy and doesn’t back very well. It also contains the skin of the almond. I prefer to mail order my almond flour from Honeyville Food Products – it’s cheaper and so far the best quality I have found.

Arrowroot: This is a great thickening agent – I use it along with almond flour for some of the breads and muffin recipes. I get mine at Healthy Home Market on South Blvd. They also carry it at Earthfare.

Coconut flour: Be careful with this stuff and use sparingly. It is a really dry flour and could almost be a replacement for cornmeal – I have ruined many a recipe using too much of this! I use Bob’s Red Mill. You can get this at Healthy Home Market and Earthfare. They carry a limited selection of this brand at Harris Teeter.

Flax seed and Flax seed meal: So I am not a HUGE fan of flax seed. I think because when I first started Paleo I was trying too hard to find flour alternatives that I over did it on the flax seed crust and breading. They have a unique taste and I feel can be overdone and burnt very easily. But they are very good for you – so throw them in some of your flours in a limited amount. I use Bob’s Red Mill for both the meal and seeds. You can also buy them in bulk from Earthfare and Healthy Home Market. I don’t recommend using flax seed meal for breading and frying. Like I said, it burns quickly and will make a mess of your pan.

Baking Powder: Trader Joe’s has a great baking soda – that is just well you guessed it sodium bicarbonate. I use it sparingly with breads and baked goods.

Tags:

Categories: Cooking Tips, Paleo news, Recipe

Author:modpaleo

eater of paleo. provider of good eats. spreadin' the word.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Got a comment?

